Day 14 – The Beatles changed our world forever

The Beatles were an English rock band, formed in Liverpool in 1960, who are often recognized as the most commercially successful and critically acclaimed act in popular music. From 1962, the group consisted of John Lennon (rhythm guitar, vocals), Paul McCartney (bass guitar, vocals), George Harrison (lead guitar, vocals) and Ringo Starr (drums, vocals). Rooted in skiffle and 1950s rock and roll, the group later worked in many genres ranging from folk rock to psychedelic rock, often incorporating classical and other elements in innovative ways. The nature of their enormous popularity, which first emerged as the “Beatlemania” fad, transformed as their songwriting grew in sophistication. The group came to be perceived as the embodiment of progressive ideals, seeing their influence extend into the social and cultural revolutions of the 1960s. More broadly, The Beatles changed the way people listened to popular music and experienced its role in their lives.

“There were some really loving, caring moments between four people… a really amazing closeness. Just four guys who really loved each other. It was pretty sensational.” RINGO

“I’d like to think that the old Beatles fans have grown up and they got married and they’ve all got kids and they’re all more responsible. But they still have a space in their hearts for us.” GEORGE
“When I was a Beatle I thought we were the best goddamn group in the world. And believing that made us what we are.” JOHN
“I’m really glad that most of the songs dealt with peace,  love and understanding. There’s hardly anyone of them which say ‘go on kids, tell them all to sod off’. There was a good spirit behind it all which I am very proud of. It were a grand thing the Beatles.” PAUL
Paul wrote a song on his new album, called Gratitude.

McCartney (from the Mail on Sunday May 12, 2008): “I’ve always had a couple of voices. Originally you’re just a kid at home, like everyone else, and then you start to dream of being a singer. My heroes then were rock ‘n’ rollers, so my ballad voice was based on Elvis and the screamy voice was me trying to be Little Richard. I loved him so much. When I joined the Beatles, John used to like that and it’s stayed with me as something I enjoy doing – that gritty, souly voice. So on this track I was just thinking of how much there is to be grateful for in life, and I wanted to put that into song and use the gritty voice to do it with.”

So, today I am grateful to my favorite rock band of all time, The Beatles, and their empowering influence they have brought to so many around the world.  I started to become a big fan of the Beatles in 1982, when the documentary, “The Compleat Beatles”, came out. Learning about their history and how they became pop icons was amazing and very inspiration to me. It felt so great to also introduce my sons to the Beatles, who love the play the Beatles Rockband music video game. A true highlight in my life was the opportunity to see Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr in various live concerts. Hearing the old Beatles tunes on stage, I felt I had gone back in time, and just had a little taste, of what it must have been like, to see the Beatles perform during the heyday of Beatlemania.

About Dave, The Gratitude Guy

Dave Block, aka “Dave, The Gratitude Guy” is an emerging entrepreneur on a mission to spread a powerful message about the importance of having daily gratitude in your life. His cause is to create positive change in the world by educating everyone, through his appearances, blogs, videos, and future projects that the best way for us to value our present day happiness is to be grateful for what we have in our life right now. If more people lived life this way, great changes would occur. Just understand that by being who you really are, you will attract more of what you truly want in your life. And gratitude is the key that opens up the door to happiness. Recently, Dave have branded himself with Thank God I... to create a new interview series called "The Thank God I..." Interview. The interviews are with empowering people from Movies, TV, Music,and Sports who have encountered hardships and had to endure tough times in life only to emerge stronger by their attitude and how they are thankful for it all. For more information, please visit www.thankgodi.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 14 – The Beatles changed our world forever

  1. rhonda says:

    I love the Beatles as well

Leave a Reply

