Day 364 – My Favorite Gratitude Blog Posts of 2011

As 2011 comes to a close, I am amazed at how fast the time has passed. When I started writing this blog on January 1, I never would have imagined the full range of emotions that I had to endure:

anger,compassion,disappointment,envy,  fear,  excitement, frustration, loneliness, love, sadness, passion, regret, rejection, happiness and gratefulness. 

While writing a blog for each day of the year is not easy, it was so very much rewarding in the end. One thing I really have enjoyed is to re-read some of my previous blogs, as the information never gets old. I love to recall what I was thinking and feeling based on the blog I wrote for that day.

For those of you who have followed my blog, I say thank you from the bottom of my heart. It has been an amazing journey.

Now, I would like to recap this year of gratitude by highlighting what I wrote about on my favorite blog posts.

In January, my first post on Day 1,  A New Year of Being Grateful Begins, I wrote about saying goodbye to any negativity of the passing year and focusing on the beautiful, wonderful, meaningful possibilities that lie ahead. On Day 4, My Baskeball Trophy and Jerry West, I wrote about my basketball idol Jerry West, my one and only trophy, and the power of believing in yourself. On Day 6, My Walks With My Mother, I wrote a poem about taking walks with my mother. On Day 11, Reaching happiness on my 46th year of existence, I wrote about my 46th birthday and with age brings on wisdom, wisdom brings on acceptance, acceptance brings on focus, and focus brings on better choices and results, which bring on happiness. On Day 27, The Journey of Rocky Balboa, I wrote about the journey of my favorite fictional character, Rocky Balboa. I talked about the love I have for the Rocky story because it gives us all hope that as long as we keep reaching higher and challenging ourselves, there’s an opportunity to go the distance in our lives.

In February, on Day 32, The Grateful Jew and The Start of the Gratitude Tours, I wrote how proud I am of my Jewish heritage. On Day 36, Does money bring happiness, I wrote that’s it’s more important to  have that deeper feeling of gratitude for overall happiness rather than have just a desire for money.  On Day 39, Time in a Bottle, I wrote about the importance of not wasting your time, make the most of it, and cherish and treasure the people and things that you love. On Day 41, Sex and Gratitude, I wrote about how showing gratitude will make your partner want to please you.  On Day 42, Smoking the Gratitude Gunn, I wrote that stopping smoking is one of the greatest gifts we can do. On Day 46, The Importance of Gratitude, I wrote about being responsible for our thoughts and emotions whether we choose to admit to it or not. On Day 47, Valentine Romance at the South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, I wrote about my valentine romance with my special love. On Day 53, Grateful For My Five Senses, I wrote about our five senses and how grateful for the ability to use them every day of our life.

In March, on Day 60, Can’t Buy Me Prosperity, I wrote about living with prosperity thinking and how it allows you to live fully and love fully. On Day 65, The Invention of Swearing, I wrote about controlling the use of profanity. On Day 76, Basketball as a Metaphor for Life, I wrote that everyone must focus, work together and fulfill their individual role for the common good of the team. On Day 78, Everything Happens for a Reason, I wrote that the successes and downfalls that you experience can be learned from. On Day 82, Volunterring to Serve Lunch at a Senior Center, I wrote about serving lunch to seniors and the importance of giving back.

In April, on Day 93, The Twilight Zone, I wrote about a TV show I love that was so far ahead of its time. On Day 100, Gratitude World, I wrote about my vision to create a new magical place called Gratitude World. On Day 107, We Are Spiritual Beings Having a Human Experience, I wrote that we are here to go through this process that is life.  On Day 111, 50 Ways to Find Your Gratitude, I wrote about the various ways to find your gratitude. On Day 118, Can Gratitude Affect the Consumer Confidence Index, I wrote that during our current economic times ,we have to get back to basics and dig deep into the important values we hold dear.

In May, on Day 119, Tomorrow is Never Promised, I wrote about a poem that makes you realize that life is short so we need to be blessed for each day and share the love and gratitude in our hearts with as many people as possible. On Day 133, Do You Want It Or Need It, I wrote about the differences between wants and needs. On Day 135, Grateful My Son Marcus Found His Way Back,  I wrote how my son Marcus took on his life challenges. On Day 139, Laughter is the Best Medicine, I wrote about how human beings are not born serious and the importance of laughter.  On Day 142, The Gratitude Festival in Lake Worth, Florida, I wrote about the amazing experience I had at the Gratitude Festival.

In June, at Day 147, Let’s Get Real About Life, I wrote that there is always something you can find to be joyful about even in the worst circumstances ever. On Day 148, Keep Going, I wrote that everything happens when it’s supposed to happen. Don’t be attached to your results. Be grateful for each day you live. On Day 149, Being Grateful for Your Pain, I wrote about being grateful for your pain, as it teaches us so many of life’s lessons. On Day 152, Be Grateful For Who You Are, I wrote that you are what you think you are and the world is what you think it is. On Day 161, Suicide Is Never The Answer, I wrote that there is not a MAN, WOMAN, or SITUATION that is worth taking your life over.

In July, on Day 165, Effective Gratitude vs Ineffective Gratitude, I wrote the best gratitude comes from celebration of life itself, for all the experiences you are having. On Day 167, Don’t Quit, I wrote about to never quit so you can prove to yourself, friends, family, and the world what is possible. On Day 169, As We Show Gratitude, We Become Gratitude, I wrote that by being grateful to the joyful and beautiful world that we live in, we are able to attract exactly that. On Day 171, When you face a major challenge, be grateful for it, I wrote to be grateful for the challenges we face for it’s a an opportunity to grow, to learn, and to get better at something. On Day 173, Gratitude Will Help Solve Our National Debt Crisis, I wrote that love is more powerful than fear, and love is what can heal your life, this economy crisis, our country and the world.

In August, on Day 175, While the World Waits For Your Greatness, I wrote a poem as I was grateful for the ability we have to share our powerful thoughts with others. On Day 177, Let The Sunshine In, I wrote about what would happen if the sun disappeared. On Day 182, Live Each Day As If It Were Your Last, I wrote that life is just borrowed, so we must live accordingly. On Day 183, A Spoonful of Gratitude for Mary Poppins, I wrote about my love for Mary Poppins. On Day 184, Life is Like a Jigsaw Puzzle, I wrote that each experience in your life, each person you meet, each “accident” that happens to you, is part of the divine “picture” of your life.  On Day 185, How to Live a Perfect Life, I wrote that what we need to know is that every event we experience has within it both sides, negative and positive emotions.

In September, on Day 188, Running On Empty, I wrote to don’t give yourself reasons to accept that this is as good as it gets. Fight the fears that are inside you and allow your inner soul to show itself. On Day 189, Gratitude in the Dark During the Great Blackout of 2011, I wrote in the dark that I realize how grateful I am for what I do have in my life. On Day 190, My Visit to New York City on 9/11 Weekend, I wrote about my experience to New York City during the 10 year anniversary of 9/11. On Day 193, Why You Should Be Grateful For Too Much E-Mail, I wrote that we have a choice at how we look at certain life occurrences. On Day 194, Let Go Of My Ego, I wrote we control our emotions that tell us when we should be happy or sad.

In October, on Day 197, Dear Universe, I wrote that the moment you ask for something, the universe has to answer. On Day 199, Love The One You’re With, I wrote that all of our stuff will eventually come to light through this mysterious and wonderful process we call love. On Day 200, Life Is Not Fair Or Is It, I wrote that it’s important to realize is that life will always be unfair for someone somewhere. On Day 202, Greed and Gratitude Don’t Go Together, I wrote that greed is about being selfish, but in the wrong way. On Day 203, Taking Things For Granted, I wrote that we are human and it is our nature to always want things. Then, when you get them, you get bored and want more things. This is called taking things for granted. On Day 204, Instant Karma’s Gonna Get You, I wrote that being grateful for what we have and following the simple guidelines of karma keeps bringing good things our way.

In November, on Day 206, The Innocence of Children, I wrote that we have the privilege of living on such a beautiful planet, and one way of truly appreciating what we have is seeing it through the eyes of a child who is discovering everything for the very first time. On Day 211, God’s Delays Are Not God’s Denials, I wrote that if you come up against rejection, remember that this does not mean “no.” It just means “not this way.” On Day 213, Taking a Gratitude Inventory, I wrote some things to be thankful for. On Day 215, How To Live Life On Your Terms, I wrote that no matter what your circumstances, as dark as they can seem at times, there is always something worth appreciating. On Day 221, Butterflies in Your Stomach, I wrote about how you can make your butterflies fly in formation with gratitude. On Day 224, A Gentle Giant – My Interview with Mark Eaton, I wrote about my amazing experience with this former NBA player. On Day 234, Thanksgiving Should Be Celebrated Everyday, I wrote when we are thankful, it means that we are grateful and acknowledge the kindness done to us. On Day 241, One Person Can Make a Difference, I wrote that when you experience the world with faith and gratitude, you reveal the beauty that is you and make all the difference in living a powerful and purposeful life. On Day 247, The Pursuit of Happiness, I wrote about the shortest way to a happy, fulfilling life is to develop a habit of showing gratitude every day.

In December, on Day 269, Are You Lonesome Tonight, I wrote about replacing emptiness and solitude with love and gratitude. On Day 273, Where Everybody Knows Your Name (Grateful for TV Show Cheers), I wrote about the love I have the TV Show Cheers. On Day 274, We Are Born With Abundance,  I wrote that most of us block the flow of wealth and abundance because we get stuck on the details of how it shows up in our lives. On Day 279, Tebowing (Grateful Expressions by Tim Tebow), I wrote about the amazing NFL quarterback Tim Tebow. On Day 282, Gratitude While Doing Dishes, I wrote about examples of how to express gratitude for what we have. On Day 287, Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff, I wrote to have the big picture in your mind and trust in yourself. On Day 309, Why We Should All Believe in Santa Claus, I wrote that Santa stands for kindness and generosity, and those things are alive and will continue to be alive—as long as we believe in them. On Day 355, Commitment Precedes Vision, I wrote about stepping up and making a commitment by showing up in the world by being the essence of who you truly are. On Day 357, Grateful For A Magical Place Called Disneyland, I wrote about the happiest place on earth. On Day 362, The Angels Among Us, I wrote about the “layaway angels” who visit the Kmart stores.

I hope you enjoyed my gratitude journey of 2011.  And in case you were curious, here is my Top 5 blog posts with the most views:

Day 93 – The Twilight Zone                                         2811

Day 53 – Grateful For My Five Senses                        440

Day 96 – Are You Feeling Lost and Confused?           438

Day 221 – Butterflies In Your Stomach                       361

Day 144 – Being Thankful For Your Troubles            354

Have a safe and prosperous 2012!

About Dave, The Gratitude Guy

Dave Block, aka “Dave, The Gratitude Guy” is an emerging entrepreneur on a mission to spread a powerful message about the importance of having daily gratitude in your life. His cause is to create positive change in the world by educating everyone, through his appearances, blogs, videos, and future projects that the best way for us to value our present day happiness is to be grateful for what we have in our life right now. If more people lived life this way, great changes would occur. Just understand that by being who you really are, you will attract more of what you truly want in your life. And gratitude is the key that opens up the door to happiness. Recently, Dave have branded himself with Thank God I... to create a new interview series called "The Thank God I..." Interview. The interviews are with empowering people from Movies, TV, Music,and Sports who have encountered hardships and had to endure tough times in life only to emerge stronger by their attitude and how they are thankful for it all. For more information, please visit www.thankgodi.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

